RFID Tag Scanner to enable buttons/menus

Hi

I am trying to disable a button until an RFID tag is scanned with a valid code on it.

I am struggling with this as I am fairly new to Node-Red.

The RFID scanner acts just like a keyboard. I have had it scan into a text entry box on a dashboard page.

I want to be able to look for a valid tag, and enable particular buttons all of the time, without having to display the code on the page. I also do not want someone to have to set focus on a text entry box before they can scan.

Please can anyone assist with pointing me in the right direction for this.

Thanks Loz

1 Like

There are numerous “bits” to this. Which bit can’t you do?
Have you got it working in your dashboard page?
If you have, then look at the standard “switch” node (not the dashboard switch node)

Hi

Thanks for your response. At the moment I can scan a tag to a dashboard text box, which proves the scanner is working and sending information. The problem is you have to set focus to a visible text box.

Really I do not want the text box visible. I would like to scan a tag, and if it is a valid number set a boolean variable to allow certain buttons to become active. This would be like a user entry system, where inly certain features are available if you have tagged in.

Thanks Loz

so as @ukmoose suggests look at the normal (not ui) switch node - in there you can compare the tag with a good value and send to one output or if not send (or not send) to another output - the output can then be used (via a change node or two) to set msg.enabled to true or false to feed the buttons you want to enable/disable.

Thanks again for response. I think we maybe talking at cross purposes here, or I am not explaining myself properly. In short how can I get the data from the RFID scanner without anything showing on the screen. I need a text input that is invisible and in focus all the time in the background.

Ah right... so...