Ring doorbell - is there a working contrib node?

Do you know if there is any alternative to node-red-contrib-ringdoorbell that works with the new authentication ?

Just got one on Amazon day and would like to add some NR goodness :wink:

I've moved this post to it's own thread...

@smcgann99 - There isn't a contrib node that works, as far as I know.
However... I am using IFTTT to interact with the Ring doorbell, to detect motion & rings.

I'm combining the Ring applet with the Webhook applet, and which then posts alerts to a node-RED endpoint.

It works pretty reliably, although I have just purchased a 'Ring Video Doorbell Wired' doorbell, which was only launched a few weeks ago, and the IFTTT applet has not been yet updated to work with that model.

1 Like

The joys of proprietary, cloud-based IoT :anguished:

4 Likes

I use home assistant as a bridge to nodered to determine motion etc

I've no personal experience with it, but Amcrest makes a 1080p wired (power, 12-24V "doorbell" transformer) that connects via WiFi and can stream the camera over rtsp meaning it will work with Blue Iris, etc. Just Google "Amcrest Video Doorbell"

I have used Amcrest DVRs, NVRs, and 4K cameras.

I started my "AI Person Detection" project partially motivated by all the false motion alerts my friend got from her Ring doorbell while we were on a diner date. My project can use any rtsp stream that VLC can play and have used a few that it can't with some oddball straight from China cameras (OpenCV/gstreamer seems a bit more versatile than VLC, but VLC is a much easier and quicker test).

1 Like

@wb666greene - The OP has just purchased a Ring doorbell, and not looking for an alternative, just a solution for the question that has been asked at post#1.

I replied on the assumption that others reading might be interested in possibly getting off the proprietary protocol treadmill if contemplating doing such a thing.