Sharepoint library

Hi,

I'm quite new in Node-red...

Is there a way to access an excel file located in a sharepoint library and poll data from it into a Node-red flow?

There are several possibilities. We need to know more about what platform you are using and what version of SharePoint.

For example, on Windows 10 and SharePoint Online, you could use the OneDrive for Business client to sync the file to the local device. Alternatively, you can directly access Excel data using the Microsoft Graph API.

For SharePoint on-prem (2010+) you can use the Excel Services API.

Thank you for your response.

The plan is to run node-red on a Siemens IOT2040 box. (No windows there). Sharepoint is O365 Online.

My goal is to pull data from a excel sheet into a dashboard.

Kind regards.

OK. Well bear in mind that I've not actually done this, I generally process Excel from SharePoint Online using Excel client or PowerBI both of which have direct connections.

However, you will need to look at how to get the Microsoft Graph API working. You will, as part of that, need to also get OAuth working so that your client can authenticate to the API.

This is of some minor interest to me as it might be useful but sadly I've not much time to help. But I am more than happy to give what little help I can.

Here are some references that might help you get started. Always useful, I find, to start looking at what others have done with Node.JS. In theory, anything you could get working using Node.JS could be translated into Node-RED though you might need a custom node writing.

Have you checked to see if there some form of network segregation between the siemens iot box and the share point instance?

This is pretty important tbh. Especially if there's a factory network for your PLC/IoT stuff.