Sharing serial port between Node-Red & Python

Im using Node-Red to send binary data to a serial device (RS232), I also have a Python script which is executed using the pythonshell node which is sending binary data to the same port (At different times)

I’m getting an error when I execute the Python script “Device disconnected or multiple access on port”

When I stop Node-red and run the script I don't get the error.

Is there a way to implement the above flow so the two processes can access the serial port at different times? For example, if i inject the pythonshell node it disables Node-red sharing the port?

The only solution I can think of is to convert the Python script to Java and run the process in Node-red? However I don't know how to convert between programming languages.

I’m new to code so any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I don't think there is a way to get node-red to release the port. A solution might be to modifiy the python script so that instead of sending the port it returns the data that needs to be sent. Then run this from an exec node in node-red, capture the output and pass it to the port.

Serial ports are not designed to allow multiple processes to access them at the same time. Indeed, generally the drivers wont allow it.

If Colin's suggestion isn't enough, you can get drivers that give you a virtual serial port which can be shared. However, you need to understand the limitations.

https://www.startpage.com/do/dsearch?query=how+to+create+a+shared+serial+port+on+linux&cat=web&pl=opensearch&language=english

[quote="Colin, post:2, topic:20329"]
exec node