Tablet resolution vs what is displayed on screen

Hi All,

I’m quite new to Node-red, a few weeks under my belt. I’ve been developing home automation dashboards and am ready to move off my PC to a dedicated Pi with its own screen to run my interactive dashboards.

I have a question about screen resolutions vs what is actually displayed on the screen.

• I have an iPad Pro 12.9 inch (2016 mode) which I believe has a resolution of 2732 x 2048.
  • I also have a much older Sony Z2 which has a resolution of 1920 x 1200.

My dashboard has a width of 26 blocks, yet despite the pro have over 33% more pixels (2732/1900), across the width, the dashboard fills up the width of both the iPad and the Sony tablets. Ok, so the iPad is a little room to spare, but nothing like 40%, more like less than 10%

However, when I look down the screen the iPad show 22 rows of data and the Sony only shows 14 rows of data. That's 57% more rows (22/14) on the iPad. Yet the iPad has only 42% more pixels (2048/1200) from top to bottom.

Can anyone explain what is going on?

The reason I ask is because I want to buy a dedicated touchscreen for my dashboard, but can’t figure out what resolution I really need. I want something similar to the iPad, but without knowing how to estimate what will be displayed I’m finding it difficult to narrow down the right model touchscreen with the right resolution.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Hi Alex.
The way your dashboard is displayed does not directly depend on the amount of pixels. Much more on the scaling factor your device uses.
Example: the Huawei p30 pro has a display resolution of 2340x1080
As browser I use chrome for Android here.
Example 1 standard mobile page

Example 2 same phone same browser but desktop view:

Obviously the resolution stays the same but is scaled differently. You can only compare a 100% (that means no zoom in or out) scaling with another.