Waiting for localhost

Hello,

I am brand new to Node-Red and am having an issue getting Node Red to run on a Windows 10 machine. It was working fine for a day or so, but then as I was editing a flow, it stopped responding all together. I have uninstalled Node-Red completely and reinstalled, and that was not the issue. I have the Command Prompt running the program, but the browser just sits and states that it is "Waiting for localhost". In my browser bar I have tried both "localhost:1880" as well as the IP address "127.0.0.0:1880" that is show in the CMD as the server is running on.

Thanks

Are you sure it is not 127.0.0.1:1880?

Of course the best solution (IMO) when you have a problem with Windows is to ditch it and install Ubuntu. Come to think of it, even if you haven't got a problem that is the best course of action. :slight_smile:

1 Like

You are correct. I typed that wrong....127.0.0.1:1880 it is.

Please let's leave prejudice at the door thanks! All platforms have their strengths and weaknesses.

Could there be a local firewall getting in the way? I haven't used Windows for some time, and certainly not Windows 10, so I'm not sure what its default setup is in that area.

I did say IMO. I don't think prejudice comes into it though, just experience. But of course you are right about all platforms having strengths and weaknesses.

So is it now working, having typed it correctly?

127.0.0.1 is, of course local access only so the Windows Firewall wont be involved at all. It would only work from the browser on the same machine that is running Node-RED.