Where to install Node-red

Hi everyone.
I am new to Node-Red and want to know where best to install the program.
I have an Emonpi for energy monitoring.
I also have a Raspberry Pi 4 running Home Assistant that is very much a work in progress
I am new to both the above and want to use Node-Red to help integrate various devices into both Home Assistant and Emoncms and create automations etc.
I use a PC to carry out changes to the EmonPi and Raspberry Pi

Would it be better to locally on my PC or on the EmonPi or Raspberry Pi home assistant

Thanks in advance

Node-red is installed in ~/.node-red on the RasPi.

Have you read the stuff on this link:
https://nodered.org/docs/hardware/raspberrypi

That's not what the OP asked!

To me the is node-red. If I am wrong - which I usually am - ok.

Definitely best on the Pi. Whether as the default stand-alone global installation, part of Home Assistant or as a local install is entirely up to you. If HA will be your focus then maybe you should use that. However, if you want the greatest flexibility, a local install on the Pi would be good. The default global install is somewhere in the middle.

Local install will be the more complex but done once, updates and backups are really easy. For the global install, you can use Dave's install script but then you may not learn how it all works (of course, that might not be important to you anyway). The HA install is the most integrated to HA but Node-RED versions may not happen as quickly and possibly one or two things might not work as most people would describe them in the forum.

Thanks for the link.

Yes i did. Both Emonpi and Home Assistant have guides and are able to run Node-red.

Is there any advantage in running locally on my pc over running it on either device.

That is the userDir where all the data for your Node-RED instance lives. The actual installation is elsewhere depending on how you install it. The 4 most common methods being: