Why cant I see any MQTT messages on debug node

I wont say I am new to node red but I am quite inexperienced despite me being an embedded engineer I have manage to get some simple node-red stuff to work, I am looking for help on how to achieve the outcome but have failed so far so I am asking on here if anyone can point me in the right direction with MQTT and the first step of being able to see some data on a debug node. surely this is possible right? I have used MQTT Explorer on my MQTT broker (solar assistant) so know it works, I can see the broker is also connected on node red and has a green indicator, but nothing being display by the debug node at all, how do I see the data in the debug node please?

Many thanks in advance for you help

Welcome to the forums @Picmon

I'm not overly experienced with MQTT.

But my first thought is - have you subscribed to the correct topic in the Node?
can you provide your topic?

Indeed, as Marcus suggests, I guess the topic is the issue. This page has some information on setting it and also mentions wildcards. You could just use # to get output from all topics and use that to test:
https://cookbook.nodered.org/mqtt/subscribe-to-topic

1 Like

Thanks for your reply Marcus, how would one know what topic to subscribe to, is the a way for finding out? what topics are available?, not sure what the definition of a topic is but guessing is one of the above such as state_of_charge, how would I be able to display this in the debug node please?

Double click the node in your flow - and you can set a topic.

or use # as a wildcard

MQTT Messages are addressed to a Topic.

Exampels of MQTT topics

• familyroom/lights/main
  • familyroom/lights/table

Here's a very simple test flow for a local MQTT broker (it uses the topic: test)
test_mqtt