icon: 'font-awesome/fa-thermometer-full',
                label: function() {
                        return this.name || 'si7021';
                }
        });
</script>

<script type='text/html' data-template-name='si7021'>
        <div class='form-row'>
                <label for='node-input-name'><i class='icon-tag'></i>Name</label>
                <input type='text' id='node-input-name' placeholder='Name'>
        </div>
</script>

<script type='text/html' data-help-name='si7021'>
        <p>A node that provides support for the si7021 sensor</p>
</script>

But what appears...
That is an arrow not a thermometer.

Try to do what the documentation states is possible...

The icon I want to use is part of the 4.7 bundle...

I am not an expert, but...

class="fa fa-ban as an example

Note the leading: fa (space in there too)

Yet, in your code:

font-awesome/fa-thermometer-full'

try:

fa fa-thermometer-full and see what happens.

Tried it... No change, it appears I am getting the arrow icon as some type of default. I even tried a completely bogus icon reference and got the arrow again. My first attempt is exactly like the NR documentation example, as far as I can see.

If I change it back to say file.svg, that works, even the font-awesome/fa-automobile icon works. But none of the 'new' 4.7 icons seem to work. Which suggests that the 4.7 reference is wrong, in that 4.7 is not actually available, but maybe only 4.6 or some older version of the icon library?

Where are you putting this code?

If you want to change the node icon, it is done differently.

Screenshot from 2020-07-22 12-44-20

Nope some of the original 4.7 icons do not work either. The 4.7 font awesome are built in per the NR documentation. So while automobile works, the older version of the thermometer, i.e. fa-thermometer-empty, does not work.