Win7 vs Raspbian

Hi All,

I'm really new to N-R (and very old). Having problems sitting at my desk with the pi, but I have a Win7 laptop in a more comfortable setting. Can I use the Win7 version to build an app, then put on my pi? How does one move or copy the requisite files from one platform to another?

Thanks!

Russ

Hi Russ, I understand that everyone has different circumstances. But Win7 is no longer supported and that includes security updates. Best step would first be upgrade Windows. :cry: I'm old too!

Sorry, the only way I'd use anything later than Win7 is only as a host for a Win7 VM. Never had a hack, phish, ransomware, etc that Malwarebytes Pro didn't catch, and (besides ZoneAlarm) that's all I use. I've dabbled with v10 and find it totally useless, intrusive, obnoxious, etc. That's the problem with using kids to program a new OS. Never better, just...different. And like most old people, I don't do different unless it's notably better. Of course, it all boils down to different strokes for different folks...

Russ

Hi @RASelkirk, you can leave node-red on the pi & program it from your Windows 7 machine browser by entering the IP of the pi like this...

http://a.b.c.d:1880

Where a.b.c.d is the IP of the pi

2 Likes

A perfect case for using Linux, No Malware!

1 Like

[offtopic] I think a lot of us "older people" might disagree with that statement. I'm still learning, still trying new stuff, and still developing using the latest tools. Windows 10 is pretty solid, and a big improvement over 7 & 8 IMHO. [/offtopic]

1 Like

Elders, you must think Elders :slight_smile:

2 Likes

One of these old guys... Is there a NR node that makes us younger? [Cough] Anyone working on such?

1 Like

Well, thank you! I' never gave that a thought, but once you said it, makes perfect sense.