Accessing Node-red dashboard over the Internet

Hi there,
I'm a newbie to this node-red environment. but I wanna ask you guys on How to accessing my nodered dashboard over the internet (with different network). I can accessing my dashboard with different PC using my nodered's PC internal IPv4.

can you guys giving me guides, or is there maybe another topic that has the similar problem that already been answered?

Thanks guys!

Hello,
If you search the forum for “remote access” you will find plenty of topics talking about this topic.
In short its very dangerous to expose any ports to the internet and when exposing the dashboard you are also exposing your whole instance of nodered to the outside world which is a very bad idea.
The easiest way for remote access that is secure is to set up something like openvpn on your network. There is plenty of tutorials for that and its fairly user friendly. That way you can securely connect to your home network from the outside and also access your dashboard.

Johannes

You can setup a server
https://discourse.nodered.org/t/node-red-server-with-nginx-reverse-proxy-howto-guide/27397/6
and then send the data to it using a mqtt broker
https://cookbook.nodered.org/mqtt/connect-to-broker

1 Like

An alternative to OpenVPN is zerotier - open source, free for normal use.

Step 1: Administrator
Register and add your first network (mark it private - which is default)

Step 2: Clients
zerotier establishes private Software Defined Networks which is almost foolproof to handle for client device users. Just install the software (mac/win/ios/android/linux/freebsd/certain NAS) and connect to the ID of your in step 1 created network. Thats it for clients - no certificates/no profiles, straightforward and simple.

Step 3: Grant access/remove access