Alexa node-red-contrib-alexa-remote2-applestrudel how trigger to get activities

I use the get activities (other node) to grab the payload.description.summary to then process further. I used to use a alexa routine to trigger a switch in Homeseer (my home automation system via the Homerseer skill) to then inject the get activities node. Due to the Homeseer skill now being paid only, this does not work any more.
I am trying to find another way to trigger a inject into my get activities node when I speak to Alexa. The listen node has stopped working a long time ago, its listening but does not trigger at all.

See this thread:

I did see that post. My issue is not with the applestrudel, thats working fine (except for the listening node), if I inject the get activities node, it gives me the last thing I have asked Alexa.
I just need to find a way of triggering a inject to the get activiteis node output when talking to Alexa

I'm a bit of a novice here, but as I understand your problem is triggering the message to the Alexa node. I found, as others that the listen node doesn't seem to trigger so now use a series of actions, e.g. a virtual switch that triggers when I ask Alexa a certain question, a presence sensor that notes when I come into the kitchen, or, as I use a tracker, when this is in the salon area.
Maybe you've already tried this, but just a suggestion.
Some ideas here

Yes that is what I used to use. I triggered a virtual switch via the Alexa routine, then that sends a message to the get activities node. But now, unless I pay a subscription I cannot trigger the virtual switch any more, so need to find some other way

Have a look at @smcgann99 creative solution using VSH and a virtual light.
I've been using it to trigger a number of my devices for over 6-months - works faultlessly.

I've taken Sean's @smcgann99 idea a stage further with a VSH virtual light named 'location'.